Halal Gelatine Manufacturers

Leading Halal Gelatin Manufacturers

Many people have probably heard of halal gelatin (in non English speaking countries, you may heard people say “gelatin halal”). It is a specific type of gelatin that is popular and has a quickly growing market. It is because it has high demand from Muslim consumers which currently represent 23% of the world’s population

How is halal gelatin produced? What types are there?

Like other types of gelatin, Halal gelatin or gelatin halal is produced with the same principle to extract collagen from different parts of the animal by boiling their bones, tendons, and skin. In most cases of halal gelatin production, parts from fish, bovine (cows), or other mammals are put in the processes without using any pork products because in Islam, pigs/pork are forbidden. In addition, animal parts used to produce gelatin must come from slaughtering processes that comply with Islamic law.

Vegetarian gelatin or plant-based gelatin is also available today. This type of gelatin is not processed from any animal but plants that contain collagen and can be extracted into gelatin, such as seaweed, carrageenan(Irish moss), or the peel of various types of vegetables and fruits. Therefore, plant gelatin is considered halal gelatin and is certainly in line with Islamic principles.

Banagel - Gelatin Manufacturer

Benefits of Halal Gelatin

Halal gelatin or gelatin halal can be used for a variety of purposes like other types of gelatin, such as in processed foods, canned foods, sweets, ice cream, or cosmetics and medicines. Halal gelatine moreover provides nutritional values, especially proteins and amino acids which are essential to the body and benefit the health of skin, nails, hair, etc.

How can you know that you are using Halal Gelatin?

Gelatin is a protein extracted from natural raw collagen. The halal status of gelatin therefore depends on the nature of the raw materials used in its production. In most cases, gelatin is divided into two types.

1. Gelatin type A is a gelatin that comes exclusively from pig skin. This is forbidden (haram) for Muslims to use this kind of gelatin as an ingredient.

2. Gelatin Type B is a gelatin derived from the hides of cattle and from the bones of animals that have been demineralized. 

Gelatin derived from halal slaughtered cattle bones is acceptable (Halal). Moreover, Gelatin from fish skin that is free from contamination from other sources is also considered Halal.

Halal and Non-Halal Gelatine : Prospects and Challenges for Muslim Community

In general, the production of gelatin from cattle and mammals are usually through Non-Muslim slaughter factories. Therefore, gelatin is permitted or prohibited for Muslims is a controversial view among Islamic scholars. However, gelatin derived from halal-slaughtered cattle bones is acceptable (Halal). Moreover,  gelatin from fish skin that is free from contamination from other sources is also considered halal. The type of fish used in the production must be fish that is accepted by the Muslim consumers as well. The gelatin with no specific type or status will create confusion and doubts to Muslim consumers. 

We have discussed about bovine gelatin halal, beef gelatin halal, gelatin bovine halal, and halal fish gelatin in other sections and we highly recommend you to read them if you wish to know more about them. 

Status of Gelatin in Islam?

According to Islamic Organization for Medical Education in a research of forbidden and dirty objects in food and medicine with cooperation of Al-Azhar University and the Majma Fiqh Islam of Jeddah and the Alexandria National Health Agency and the Kuwait Ministry of Health between 22-24 May 1995 stated that:

“Transformation means to change from the original condition to another state completely. There is a change in appearance from something that is considered dirty to something clean and from what is Haram (prohibited) to what is approved by the religion such as gelatin that has been transformed from bone or skin or any part of the Najis (prohibited) animal is Halal.”

In a conclusion, not all types of gelatin are halal but you can find bovine gelatin halal, beef gelatin halal, gelatin bovine halal, and fish gelatin halal available in the market and most of manufacturers in the market have halal certified gelatin.

Is there a company that specifically produces halal gelatin?

There is now a business that produces halal gelatine in compliance with Islamic rules: from the selection of raw materials to the final production processes. Consumers should look for manufacturers that have received the Halal certification mark from the local or international Islamic Standards Inspection Agency.

Banagel is the leading producer of Halal Gelatin in the ASEAN region and is certified Halal by paying attention to every step of production with quality control by Muslim experts who understand the rules and the essence of Halal standards.